Jenny Runkles Watercarrier Award for Leadership

Jenny Runkles Watercarrier Award for Leadership  

The Watercarrier Award for Leadership, renamed in memory of Jenny Runkles in 2002, honors a University of Arkansas student who embodies the spirit of the “Watercarrier.” Jenny Runkles, an alumna of the University of Arkansas, exemplified that spirit in all activities in which she was involved. Tragically killed in a car accident in June of 2001, Jenny’s memory continues to live in our hearts and through this award. This award is given annually, and recipients are recognized at the Graduating Student Leaders breakfast held each May.

To receive this special honor, the candidate will be nominated by a mentor and should embody the spirit of leadership as described by the philosopher and corporate leader, Max DePree. The selection committee uses the following criteria when selecting the recipient:

  • Commitment to problem solving and organizational development;
  • Dedication to the goals, mission, and beliefs of the organization;
  • Advocating organizational responsibility from leaders and respect from followers;
  • Fostering change.

For more information please contact the New Student & Family Programs office by phone (479) 575-5002 or email

2017 Jenny Runkles Watercarrier Award for Leadership  Recipient


Jacob (Jake) Robert Smith

B.S.: Kinesiology, Pre-Medical Studies with Honors, Minor: Biology
2017 Rhodes Scholarship Finalist

2017 Jenny Runkles Watercarrier Award for Leadership  Finalists

  • Leslie Parker
  • Nick Staufer
  • Brandon Payne
  • Rachel Holt
  • Sarah Covert
  • Andrew Fischman
  • Jacob Robert Smith
  • Lionel Davis
  • Anna Watson
  • Madeline Wagnon